LINE

BETA LAN

Hiding/deleting chats

Deleting chats toggle
To delete a chat:
1. Tap the Chats tab > the menu icon at the top right > Edit messages.
2. Choose the chat room you want to delete.
3. Tap Delete > Delete.

Note: 
- Chats cannot be restored after you delete them.
You cannot delete the Keep Memo chat.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Deleting chat messages toggle
You can delete messages in chats so they don't appear on your device anytime.
Important: Deleting messages by following the steps below will only delete them on your device, and they will still be visible to any other users in the chat room.

To delete a message:
1. Tap and hold the message you want to delete.
2. Tap Delete or Delete messages.
3. Tap Delete and confirm by tapping Delete once again.

You can unsend messages so that other users can no longer see them if 24 hours haven't passed since they were sent (regardless of whether they have been read or not). For more information about unsending messages, see this Help article.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Will other people know if I delete a message or chat room? toggle

No one will be notified if you delete a message or chat room.

 

However, if a message is unsent, everyone will be able to see a notice saying “~ unsent a message” in the chat room.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Hiding chats toggle
To hide a chat: 
1. Tap the Chats tab.
2. Tap the menu icon at the top right or Edit at the top left of the screen.
3. Tap Edit Messages > one or more chats > Hide.

You can also hide one chat at a time in the Chats tab by tapping and holding the chat and selecting Hide > Hide.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Preventing messages from strangers toggle
You can stop strangers from messaging you with the following steps.

1. On the More or Friends tab, tap Settings > Privacy.
2. Turn on the option for Filter messages.



With the Filter messages setting turned on, you will no longer receive messages from strangers, but you also will not receive messages from any acquaintances that are in your Friend recommendations.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Blocking LINE GAME messages toggle
To block messages from LINE GAME apps, please follow the steps below.

1. Go to the More or "..." tab > Settings > Notifications > Authorized Apps.
2. Tap the game you wish to block messages from.
3. Turn off Receive Messages and/or Receive Notifications.

If you turn off Receive Messages, you will not receive messages but will continue to receive any gifts your friends send you.

If you turn off Receive Notifications, you will still receive LINE messages, but will not be notified when they arrive.

Settings

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Unsending messages toggle
You can unsend a message within 24 hours of sending it. This removes the message so that it can no longer be seen by anyone in the chat where it was sent, even after it has been read. To unsend a message, just tap and hold it, then select Unsend.

Important: 
- Even if you unsend a message, everyone in the chat will still be able to see a notification saying that you unsent it.
- Anything (e.g. text messages, photos) deleted in a chat room cannot be unsent.
- We will not be able to recover or unsend anything deleted from a chat room.

You can unsend text messages, stickers, photos, videos, voice messages, songs shared from LINE MUSIC, URLs, contact information, location information, and files.
Note: This feature cannot be used for call histories from LINE version 9.17.0 and later for Android.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

I accidentally deleted a message instead of unsending it toggle
There is no way to unsend anything (e.g. text messages, photos) that has already been deleted from a chat.

Please also understand that LINE is unable to recover, delete, or unsend messages on your behalf.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Displaying hidden chats toggle
To display a hidden chat, see the steps below.

For a one-on-one or group chat:
1. Tap the Home or Friends tab > the relevant group or friend under Groups or Friends.
2. Tap Chat from the pop-up.

You won't be able to display a chat with someone if they don't appear in your friend list for one of the following reasons:
• You haven't added them as a friend on LINE.
• You deleted them from your friend list.
• They deleted their LINE account.

For a multi-person chat:
You can participate in a multi-person chat again after having someone who was in the chat send you a message.

Was this page helpful?

Yes No

Help Center
TOP